Shoulder Rotator Cuff

The shoulder rotator cuff consist of four muscles and their tendons that control the function of the shoulder and connects the upper arm bone (humerus) with the shoulder blade (scapula).  It consists of a group of four muscles, namely infraspinatus, supraspinatus, subscapularis and teres minor. These tendons fuse all together surrounding the back, front and top of the shoulder joint like a cuff.

Rotator cuff is a name referred to the tendons present surrounding the shoulder joint. The shoulder joint is made up of the clavicle (collarbone), the scapula (shoulder blade), and the humerus (upper-arm bone). The shoulder joint, or glenohumeral joint, is a ball-and-socket joint that helps the shoulder move forward and backward and makes it possible for the arm to move in a circular motion and lift away from the body. The rotator cuff is in charge for holding the ball of the humerus securely into the shoulder socket … Read More